Databases

Databases with an asterisk * may require your library card number and a password.
Contact your local branch for more information or to set up a password.

Accessible formats for tip sheets available upon request.  For more information visit our accessibility page.


First time using a database? Start here - Word | PDF

 

click here for arts and leisureclick here for business, law and careersclick here for Canadian resourcesclick here for Do It Yourself
click here for General Referenceclick here for health and wellnessclick here for Lifelong Learningclick here for local resources
 click here for science and technologyclick here for social sciences and humanities 
 

 

click here for arts and leisure  
AudioBookCloud
(formerly TumbleTalkingBooks)
Audiobooks for all ages - read aloud on your computer!  Choose from fiction, non-fiction, and Spanish titles.
CAMPUS 
(National Film Board)
Access to a vast selection of films from the National Film Board of Canada, including many only available through the library.
Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture eCollectionPractical and scientific information for hobbyists, landscape architects and farmers on gardening, landscaping and more. Mobile App (Gale)
Hobbies and Craft Reference Centre*Step-by-step instructions on sewing, beading, scrapbooking and other craft projects as well as information on collecting, games and other hobbies.
Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure eCollection

Information from journals, reference titles and travel handbooks from Fodor's. A great resource for curious travelers and serious researchers. Mobile App (Gale)

INFORequest books from other libraries outside of Innisfil.  Tip sheet (PDF)
Literary Reference Centre*Full text for plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journals, book reviews, classic texts, poems, short stories, author interviews and more!  Tutorial
Literature Resource CentreCriticism, biographies, bibliographies, articles, compare & contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists for a wide range of authors. Mobile App (Gale) | Tutorials: Basic, Advanced
NoveList Plus*Search for books by subjects, plot, characters and more. Descriptions, reading levels and ratings are provided.
NoveList K-8*All of the features of NoveList, but especially for kids.  Tutorial
Tsuga-Innisfil Public Library's Online CatalogueSearch for books, movies and more at Innisfil Public Library.
TumbleBooksAn online collection of animated talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love.  Type "iPad" into the Tumblesearch box to find books specially designed for viewing on the iPad.  Aussi disponible en francais!
TumbleBookCloud
(formerly TumbleReadables)
Books for middle and high school students - TumbleBookCloud highlights sentences as they are being read, turns the page automatically, and offers the ability to follow along in 3 text sizes.  Also includes graphic novels and videos!
 TumbleBookCloud Jr.All the fun of TumbleBookCloud, but for a younger audience.  Grades 3-6 will love the ebooks, audiobooks, graphic novels and videos just for them.
 back to top
click here for business, law and careers 
Career CruisingJob descriptions, education requirements, annual income, career paths and more on various careers.
Criminal Justice eCollectionFor those studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, forensic scientist and more. Mobile App (Gale)
General Business File ASAP

A combination of indexing, abstracts and full text for business and trade publications. Includes directory listings for companies and investment analysts' reports on major companies and industries. Mobile App (Gale)

Insurance and Liability eCollectionA broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. Mobile App (Gale)
LegalTracProvides full-text coverage of major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals; great for law students, faculty and legal researchers. Mobile App (Gale)
Reference Group*Use this online directory to identify your competitors, suppliers, and other businesses in Innisfil and throughout Canada.  Tip sheet Word | PDF
Small Business eCollectionPerfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories. Mobile App (Gale)
Vocations and Careers eCollectionFinding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection. Mobile App (Gale)
 back to top
click here for Canadian resources  
Ancestry.ca

Learn about your family tree. Find census, birth, marriage, death records and more. (in-library use only)  Tutorial | User Guide (PDF) | Sample Searches (PDF)

Canadian Points of View *
Great for students grades 7 to 12, this resource has articles on various Canadian issues and topics, as well as the Canadian view on world issues.  Tutorial
Canadian Reference Centre*Articles from Canadian newspapers, journals and reference books. After logging in, click on the "EBSCOhost Web" icon to access this database.
Mobile App (EBSCO)
 back to top
click here for Do It Yourself  
ChiltonAutomotive repair information for Do-It-Yourself fans; repairs, recalls, technical service bulletins and more.  Tutorials: mainenancerepair  | Mobile App (Gale)
Consumer ReportsReviews, ratings, and insightful articles on a variety of products.
Home Improvement Reference Centre*Step-by-step instructions on plumbing, woodworking, decorating and other home repair or remodeling projects.
Small Engine Repair Reference Centre*Service manuals and more for lawnmowers, snowmobiles, tractors, ATVs, generators, and boat engines.
 back to top
click here for General Reference  
CPI.QArticles from Canadian periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers). Mobile App (Gale)
Encyclopaedia Britannica*The classic reference source, with a special section especially for children. To access Britannica Online from your mobile device use http://m.search.eb.com
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryA virtual reference library of over 40 ebook reference works (47,781 documents).  Includes a Help Guide with text and video tutorials . Mobile App (Gale)
General OneFile Provides instant access to periodical and news content and indexing from a variety of mainstream and specialized sources from The New York Times to refereed academic journals. Mobile App (Gale)
General Reference Center GoldFull-text and image resources from general interest and business magazines, newspapers, and reference books, with information about current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences. Mobile App (Gale)
Kids InfoBits Using a visual menu, kids grades 1-5 can find articles on a variety of topics. Mobile App (Gale)
PebbleGoThis resource for reading and research is especially for kids from Pre-K to Grade 3. Choose PebbleGo Animals or PebbleGo Earth and Space.
Student Edition Full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more, for high-school students. 
Student Edition K-12The best of Student Edition, but with a visual menu.  For grades K-12.  Tutorial
World Book Online*Encyclopedia-quality information for all ages and grades.  Includes digital books, French and Spanish-language interface, social studies, science, and even crafts!
 back to top
click here for health and wellness 
Consumer Health Complete*Canadian health information including medications, alternative medicine and information on specific conditions. Aussi disponible en français.  Tutorial | Mobile App (EBSCO)
Teen Health & Wellness Information on health issues affecting teens, including: depression, sexuality, drugs, diseases and more.  Mobile app
 back to top
click here for Lifelong Learning 
Educators 200Practical and theoretical information for teachers and instructors.
Learning Express*Learn popular computer programs like Word, Excel, Outlook, Photoshop and more at your own pace.  To use this resource at home, make sure to use your library card number as your username when you register.  Tip sheet Word | PDF
Mango Languages*Teach yourself actual conversation skills in over 20 languages.  Includes ESL courses.  FAQ and tutorial  |  Handout - Word | PDF  |  Mobile app
 back to top
click here for local resources 
Community Information DatabasesThis group of databases includes a list of businesses, programs and organizations in the Innisfil and South Simcoe area as well as local health and tourism information.
Innisfil Historical SocietySearch this collection of local photos and documents.
Native Peoples of Simcoe CountyA history of local Native Peoples. 
Our StoriesAn online collection of local historical information, including photos, vital statistics, newpaper articles and other documents.
Reference Group*Use this online directory to find people and businesses in Innisfil and throughout Canada. Tip sheet Word | PDF
Simcoe County Local Heroes

Essays, biographies, articles and photos of influential people from Simcoe County.

 back to top
click here for science and technology 
Computer Database Computer related information including reviews and articles on software, hardware, electronics and other technologies. Mobile App (Gale)
General Science eCollectionInformation on the latest scientific developments, covering topics such as physics, advanced mathematics and nanotechnology. Mobile App (Gale)
Information Science and Library Issues eCollectionCurrent and accurate information for the information professional; includes industry journals and periodicals. Mobile App (Gale)
Science Reference Centre*Articles from research journals and studies.  After logging in, click on the "EBSCOhost Web" icon to access this database. Mobile App (EBSCO)
 back to top
click here for social sciences and humanities 
A to Z Maps*All kinds of maps: political, geological, precipitation, earthquakes and more.  Tutorials
Communications and Mass Media eCollection

A custom collection of more than 250 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field such as advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature. Mobile App (Gale)

Diversity Studies eCollectionThis collection for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Mobile App (Gale)
Environmental Studies and Policy eCollection

Answers environmentally-related inquiries about environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, and corporate interests. Mobile App (Gale)

Global Road Warrior*Information on countries around the world, including culture, climate, economy, transportation and much more.  Tutorials
Military and Intelligence DatabaseA custom collection of over 400 journals, covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs such as socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and more. Mobile App (Gale)
Pop Culture eCollection Articles from magazines, journals and reference books on art, social science, history and more.
Psychology CollectionThis collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops and diminishes over time. Mobile App (Gale)
Religion & Philosophy eCollection Users of this collection can research different religions and philosophies, and how they impact our daily lives.
War & Terrorism eCollection Articles for students of history, social sciences or current events which provide insight into conflicts and their many causes. Mobile App (Gale)
World History eCollection This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Mobile App (Gale)
 back to top
  the support of the ministry of tourism culture and sport  is gratefully acknowledged